CSforALL Summit 2017 Speakers

Leslie Aaronson

Strategic Director of K12 Initiatives
National Center for Women & Information Technology

Brian Alspach

Executive Vice President
E-Line Media

Jessica Anderson

North America Giving Manager
Dell Giving

Keshia Ashe

AAAS Fellow
National Science Foundation

Alberto Avalos

Innovation and Technology Program Manager
Hispanic Heritage Foundation

Oliver Beach

Global Parterships Manager
Kano Computing

Kamau Bobb

Senior Director of the Constellations Center for Equity in Computing
Georgia Tech

Aaron Bobick

Dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science
Washington University in St. Louis

Quincy Brown

Program Director for STEM Education Research
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Kelly Buchanan

Senior Vice President of Commercial Solutions

Gemma Busoni

Education Programs & XR Specialist

Roberta Carson

Mid-Missouri Regional Director
Missouri Career Pathways

Dave Crusoe

Senior Director of Youth Digital Engagement
Boys & Girls Clubs of America

Jan Cuny

Program Officer
National Science Foundation

Ron Cytron

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
Washington University

Leigh Ann DeLyser

Co-Founder, Chief Academic Officer
CSforALL Consortium

Colleen Devery

Assistant Vice President of Strategic Alignment

Rachel Decoste

Congressional App Challenge

Chris Dovi

Executive Director

Jason Ediger


Andy Edmunds

Vice President of Virginia Tourism and Director of the Virginia Film Office

James Evans

Lee County School, Beattyville, KY

Ruthe Farmer

Chief Evangelist
CSforALL Consortium

Carol Fletcher

Deputy Director of the Center for STEM Education
University of Texas at Austin

Jeff Forbes

Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science
Duke University

Dave Francis

Extension Associate Professor
Utah State University

Dave Frye

Associate Director of the Friday Institute for Educational Innovation
North Carolina State University's College of Education

Kumar Garg

Senior Advisor
STEM Next Opportunity Fund

Leah Gilliam

Vice President of Education, Strategy & Innovation
Girls Who Code

Suzanne Harper

Senior Director of National STEM Strategy
Girl Scouts of the USA

David Karandish

Co-Founder, Chairman

Jeremy Keeshin

CEO, Co-Founder

Suzie Koonce

Community Engagement Manager
Lenovo North America

Janice Levenhagen

CEO, Founder

Zipporah Little

Director, School Counselor
Richland School District Two Youth Career Connect Carolina Alliance for Technology Program
Kewl Girls Kode

Mark Lombardi

Maryville University

Bryan Miller

Director of Strategic Education Outreach
Wonder Workshop

Christina Miller

Turner's Cartoon Network, Adult Swim, and Boomerang

Aaron Morris

Senior Manager of Community Engagement Content

Ron Ottinger

Executive Director

Anthony A. Owen

State Director of Computer Science Education
Arkansas Department of Education

John Pearce

Executive Director
FamilyCodeNight.org and MV GATE

Kevin Pekkarinen

Fayette High School

Judd Pittman

Special Consultant to the Secretary of Education for STEM
Pennsylvania Department of Education

Paige Prescott

Computer Science Teachers Association of New Mexico

Michael Preston

CSforALL Consortium

Sophia Puertas

Mary Institute Country Day High School

Maureen Reyes

Executive Director of Advanced Placement Program Management
College Board

Michelle Rinehart

Secondary Math Consultant, T^3 Regional Instructor
Region 18 Education Service Center

Mariana Rios

Program Officer
Televisa Foundation

Kristin Robertson

Vice President of Engineering, Chief Engineer for Strike, Surveillance and Mobility
Boeing Defense, Space & Security

Sierra Seabrease

University of Maryland

Stephanie Rodriguez

Director of STEM Policy
Afterschool Alliance

Josh Sheldon

Director of Programs
MIT App Inventor

Haley Shoaf

Education Director

Megan Smith

3rd U.S. CTO Entrepreneur, Engineer, CEO

Scott Spurgeon

Riverview Gardens School District, St. Louis, MO

Cedric Stallworth

Assistant Dean of the College of Computing for Outreach, Enrollment and Community
Georgia Institute of Technology

Holden Thorp

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Washington University in St. Louis

Paul Tymann

Professor and former Chair of the Computer Science Department
Rochester Institute of Technology

Ken Wagner

Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education
Rhode Island Department of Education

Caitlind Walker

Francis Howell North High School

Kevin Wang

Founder, Ringleader
Microsoft TEALS

David Walter

Hazelwood East High School

Brenda Wilkerson

President, CEO
Anita Borg Institute

Aman Yadav

Associate Professor, Director of Masters of Arts in Educational Technology
Michigan State University

CSforALL Summit 2017 Partners

What is the CSforALL Summit?

The CSforALL Summit amplified the work of stakeholders nationwide engaged in building K-12 computer science education for all US students, both in and out of school and included an in-person audience of carefully selected school district delegations, commitment-makers, and community leaders.

It was an invitation only event. To be considered for an invitation, you either participated as part of a school district team for the CSforALL School District Workshop or attended The Celebration by making a commitment to advance the mission of CSforALL movement.

The Celebration was live-streamed nationally. Links and instructions were be shared via Twitter, Facebook and other social media platforms using the hashtag #CSforALLSummit.

Make a Commitment

Measurable actions in support of CS for all US students

Examples of 2016 Commitments in Action

  • In just one year, UT Austin’s Center for STEM Education trained 1,410 Texas educators, representing 799 schools and 347 school districts in computer science, coding, and computational thinking through WeTeach_CS online and face-to-face professional development.
  • FamilyCodeNight.org partnered with multiple regional and national networks to grow from just 18 schools to a national effort empowering more than 8,000 schools to host Family Code Night events, all in less than a year
  • NCWIT launched new initiatives to increase engagement of Native American youth and women and girls of color in CS and IT
  • Bootstrap prepared more than 400 math teachers to teach CS in 2017, reaching more than 20,000 students with (46% students of color, 43% female) in schools across the country.
  • Walt Disney Magnet School in Chicago partnered with the CS boot Camp Actualize to provide an after school program where teacher and student pairs learned HTML, CSS and JavaScript to create dynamic, interactive websites. Students showcased their work 1871 and the teachers brought back CS to their classrooms, serving an additional 300 students.
  • Teach For America collaborated with Exploring Computer Science (ECS) and Mobile CSP to prepare 60 teachers from schools in high-poverty areas to begin teaching ECS and AP CS Principles in their communities
  • CodeVA worked with Virginia in drafting the state's Computer Science Standards of Learning. Virginia is the first state to mandate computer science as a K-12 core subject for all students, and the standards are expected to go into effect as early as 2018-19 school year.
  • CodeVA founded a statewide High School Computer Science Honor Society that has grown in one year to a dozen chapters with over 250 members who already have contributed thousands of volunteer hours around CS education.
  • CodeVA partnered with the Virginia Tourism Commission and Gov. Terry McAuliffe to launch the "Virginia is for Computer Science Lovers" public awareness campaign. The campaign includes an interactive, kid-friendly "Welcome to the Digital Dominion" map of Virginia's "tech tourism" assets.